SQL server

SQL 2005 installation troubleshooting LaunchLocalBootstrapAction threw an exception during execution.

I was installing a SQL 2005 (cluster) on a windows 2008 R2 server, and had run into an error which I had not seen before: There was an unexpected failure during the setup wizard ….  See the screenshot in the right. I tried again a couple of times to see if it was something that would go away, but it did not. Here is what I found out while troubleshooting the issue:

The setup process logs its steps under C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Setup Bootstrap\LOG\Files. The main install log file is SQLSetup0011_SERVER-NAME_Core.log. The 0011 in the name means that it was my eleventh installation attempt, and the SERVER-NAME will be the name of the server on which SQL was being installed. On viewing the log file, I found the error message “LaunchLocalBootstrapAction” threw an exception during execution. On researching, I found out that this issue was due to the fact that I was using a RDP session to do the installation and some error messages like ‘Insert Disk 2…’ cannot be displayed back to my remote session.

I then remembered that I had unpacked only disk 1 of the 2 disks. So, I went ahead, and unpacked disk 2. Now disk1 and disk2 were in the same folder, and I restarted the install. This time everything went through smoothly. I guess 11th time is the charm in this case.

Standard

Thinking about someting? Leave a Reply...

